• Pleasanton BPA attended the State Leadership Conference.
  • Pleasanton BPA national qualifiers

Pleasanton High School BPA sends nine to Nationals

Pleasanton High School students attended the 2017 Business Professionals of America State Leadership Conference in Dallas, March 1-4. Pleasanton High School chapter members joined over 3,500 other conference delegates from across the state to participate in state level business skill competitions, general sessions, and the state officer candidate campaigns and elections.

Qualifying for Nationals were: Natalie Carrasco, Kyla Llamas, Kaye Hubert, Jillian Olivarri - Economic Research Team- 1st Place; Alyssa Dickson, Johanna Martinez, Sam Karsky, Will Westfall - Small Business Management Team- 2nd Place; Madeleine Guajardo- Fundamentals of Desktop Publishing- 5th Place.

National Alternate was Jessica Skelton– Prepared Speech– 4th Place.

Alyssa is also competing in a virtual event called Promotional Photography at the National level and is still awaiting her results on whether she made the Top 10. If she makes the Top 10, she will get to showcase her photography pieces at Nationals.

Other highlights of the conference:

*Natalie Carrasco, Kyla Llamas, Kaye Hubert and Jillian Olivarri received the Statesman Torch Award recognizing their service to their school, community, and personal development.

*Jillian Olivarri received the Statesman of the Year Award for Region 2 for having the most Torch Award points in the San Antonio Area.

*Jillian Olivarri submitted one of the winning pin designs for the Texas trading pins to be distributed at the National Leadership Conference.

*Jillian Olivarri was the recipient of a $1,000 BPA Scholarship given by the Texas Association of BPA.

*Jillian also served her final official duty as out-going President of Area 2, Region 2 for the Texas Association of BPA by helping to run the State Leadership Conference with the State Officer Team.

Individual competitors not placing at the State Conference were: Johanna Martinez– Banking and Finance; Alaina Dickson – Advanced Spreadsheet Applications; Cassie Lotas– Medical Office Procedures; Kinsley Moore– Administrative Support Research; Alarik Myrin– PC Servicing and Troubleshooting; Trent Osborne– Computer Security; Hayden Powell– Fundamentals of Web Design; Will Westfall– Interview Skills; Sam Karsky – Advanced Interview Skills; Marshall Morris – Extemporaneous Speech; Jillian Olivarri– Graphic Design Promotion; Alyssa Dickson– Graphic Design Promotion.

Team competitors not placing at the State Conference were: Lauren Dowdy, Paige Hubert, Kate McNeill, Delanee Olivarri– Global Marketing Team.

Congratulations to all our State competitors for a job well done and good luck to those advancing to the National Leadership Conference in Orlando, Fla.!