The Y’s have it

Yee, Ybañez crowned Strawberry Festival King, Queen

Rex Yee and Naomi Jo Ybañez were crowned King and Queen at the 68th annual Poteet Strawberry Festival Coronation on March 7. This year’s strawberry celebration runs from April 10-12.

Rex Yee and Naomi Jo Ybañez were crowned King and Queen at the 68th annual Poteet Strawberry Festival Coronation on March 7. This year’s strawberry celebration runs from April 10-12.

Poteet High School students Naomi Jo Ybañez and Rex Yee will reign as the Poteet Strawberry Festival Queen and King for 2015.

The two were announced at the 68th annual Coronation of Royalty on March 7, at Poteet High School. “The Court of the Egyptian Nile” was this year’s theme and the event was coordinated by the Kappa Tau Sorority.

Naomi, a junior, is the daughter of Ruth Ann Olivares and Jose Rubalcaba. She is 16-years-old. Rex, also 16, is a sophomore and the son of Xenia Lee.

Joining them as Princess and Prince are junior Meranda Ramirez and sophomore Donovan “Ronin” Garcia II. Meranda, 17, is the daughter of Noma and Baltazar Ramirez. Donovan, 16, is the son of Shawna and Donovan Garcia.

Duchesses are Lexii Briseno, Jasmine Richardson and Emily Reyes and Dukes are John Nicholas Cervantez, Tyler Crisp and Robert Diego Moreno.

Chosen for the honor of Little Miss Poteet and Little Mr. Poteet were Isabella C. Herrera, daugher of Vanessa and Chris Herrera and Elvis Estrada, the son of Carol and Steve Estrada.

This year’s Mistress of Ceremonies was Shay Thomas Huggins, joined by Sydney Huggins. Last year’s Little Mr. Poteet Steve Chapa Jr. also joined in the festivities. Adessa Wiesehan, the 2014 Little Miss Poteet was unable to attend.

Class representatives included: 12th grade- Staci Simmons and Stephen Gamez, 11th grade- Kattie Dean Norment and Brandon Ramos, 10th grade- Joshlynn Hilburn and Daniel Max Orta, 9th grade- Sadie Carrasco and Isaiah Shaver, 8th grade- Danielle L. Howell and Armando R. Pena, 7th grade- Hannah Watts and Justin Akers, 6th grade- Lauren Hailey Davila and Cutter Blagg, 5th grade- Alysson Marie Gomez and Carlos Xavier DeLeon, 4th grade- Journie Garcia and Roland Arguijo, 3rd grade- Angelina Martinez and Seth Dunn, 2nd grade- Joselyn Ortiz and James Erik Coronado and kindergarten- Miquella Mendoza and Nathan Hernandez.

Earlier in the evening, nearly 50 youngsters were interviewed for the Little Mr. and Miss Poteet Contest, answering questions about their favorite teachers, hobbies and more.

Girls were: Hailey Abbot, Juissa Bryan, Jennifer Cape, Laci Faith Cumpian, Madisynn DeLaGarza, Sadie Edwards, Olivia Aneliza Fletcher, Elizabeth Garcia, Evelyn Garcia, Madeline Lilliana Garcia, Abcde Gonzalez, Amberlynn Kahn, Kendall Krueger, Irelyne Loredo-Orta, Brianna Moreno, Jalynn Navarro, Paetyn Ochoa, Ava Robin Pacheco, Raelynn Pacheco, Maria Isabel Reyna, Elianna Rodriguez; Gisele Nicole Rodriguez and Alexandra Zavala. Boys were: Rene Eli Amezquita, Robert Benavidez III, Ryder Bohannon, Czar Chapa, Phil Anthony Duron, Austin Fernandez, Gabriel Flores, Exayvier Gutierrez, Ethan Herrera, Gabriel Herrera, Nathan Cade Krempin, Dawson Lamproe, Larry Martinez, Adrian Oliva Jr., Armon Quijano, Thomas E. Rodriguez, Michael Ray Sisnero, Xander Smart, Brandon Stahl, Nicholas Wilson Jr and Josiah Zuniga.

The 2014 Queen and King, Caitlyn Crisp and Clay Akers, talked about the excitement everyone on the court shared throughout the past year, such as when they attended the festival concerts and Fiesta Flambeau. They thanked the Poteet Strawberry Festival Association and everyone who made it all possible.

Plaques were presented to last year’s court members. They will receive scholarships in the amount of: $2,000 for the King and Queen, $1,500 for the Prince and Princess and $1,000 for the Dukes and Duchesses.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *