SWCD holds 50th awards program

  1. Atascosa County Soil and Water Conservation District held their annual awards on June 8 at the Poteet VFW Hall. This marked the district’s 50th awards program.

Michael Korus served as emcee for the program. Pledge of Allegiance was led by Jesse Pawelek and invocation was said by Pat West. Catering was done by Larry’s Catering.

Guest speaker for the event was Sid Miller, Texas Ag Commissioner.

  1. poster contest was entered by 182 students from local schools.

Winners for first grade were:

1st-Holden Pawelek, 2nd-Hannah Galloway and 3rd-Evan Fodge, all Pleasanaton Primary students.

Third grade: 1st place-Corgin King, Pleasanton Elementary

Fourth grade: 1st place-Holley De La Garza, 2nd place-Jadyn Swan and 3rd place Charicia Lazcano all Poteet Intermediate students.


Fifth grade: 1st place-Alizandra Gonzales, 2nd place-Danielle Reyes and 3rd place-Gael Montes, all Poteet Intermediate students.

Overall poster winner was Holley De La Garza.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *