Strawberry Festival Queen, King named

Reigning over the 65th annual Poteet Strawberry Festival are Queen Leslee Ramon and King Brandon Christopher Lopez.

Reigning over the 65th annual Poteet Strawberry Festival are Queen Leslee Ramon and King Brandon Christopher Lopez.

Amid a festive evening featuring the theme of “The Court of the Old West,” Leslee Ramon and Brandon Christopher Lopez were crowned the 2012 Poteet Strawberry Festival Queen and King. Coordinated by the Kappa Tau Sorority, the ceremony was held Saturday, March 10 at Poteet High School.

Miss Ramon is the 16-year old daughter of Lorena and Joe Dominguez. She is a sophomore. Seventeen-year old Brandon Christopher Lopez is a junior and the son of Chris and Tina Neely-Lopez.

Parade onlookers will be sure to do a double-take, as Leslee’s twin sister, Lindsay Ramon, was selected as Princess. Ronald Sanchez was named Prince. He is a 16-year old junior and the son of Ronald and Feliciana Sanchez.

Also on this year’s court are Duchesses Samantha Mikolajczyk, Lauren Zavala and Savanah Holloway and Dukes Adrian Contreras, Cameron Uribe and Carlos Alejandro Garcia.

This year’s Little Miss and Mister Poteet are Olivia (Libby) Briones and Giancarlo Pezzotti. Olivia is the daughter of Veronica Merrill and Paul Briones. Giancarlo is the son of Elizabeth Pezzotti and Carlos Pezzotti.

Ron Mixon served as the Master of Ceremonies. A former king himself, Mixon recognized all the kings and queens of Strawberry Festivals from the past who were in attendance.

After thanking the sorority and the Poteet Strawberry Festival Association, Mixon pointed out the decorative festival posters on display, created by second grade Poteet students. The 2011 Queen and King Stephanie Diane Rivera and Patrick Reyes shared some of their cherished memories of serving as Queen and King.

This year’s coronation class representatives are: Stanley Mikolajczyk and Tiffany Ortiz (12th grade), Sean Rodriguez and Brianna Saroz (11th grade), Samuel Herrera and Miranda Wiederhold (10th grade), Darin Rodriguez and Alyssa Flores (ninth grade), Christopher Rodriguez and Meranda Ramirez (eighth grade), Tyler Crisp and Hailey Uribe (seventh grade), James Perez and Aileen Orda (sixth grade), Robert Benavidez and Briana Alvarado (fifth grade), Eric Trevino and D’andra Calhoun (fourth grade), Noel Pena and Gabrielle A. Garcia (third grade), Diego Garza and Jocelyn Raquel Orta (second grade) and Gavin Fernandez and Jewel Dooley (kindergarten).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *