Slomchinski Farms make finals – Vote today



Congratuations to Bill and Brett of Slomchinski Farms, Pleasanton who made the top three finalists of the National Farm Credit video contest. The winner takes home $10,000 to donate to a local charity or community organization.

The short videos of Farm Credit customers are designed to inspire. According to Farm Credit, “They are at the heart of everything we do as we fulfill our mission of supporting rural communities and agriculture every day.” The Slomchinski video brought tears to several of the Pleasanton Express team, mine included.

Voting ends January 30 so please go to https:// and vote today. The Pleasanton Express will be promoting this contest on our Facebook page so go there for an easy way to link to the contest.

Bill and Brett Slomchinski make a great team uniting decade’s old knowledge and extensive agricultural experience with a new perspective. Bill has farmed for 43 years and carries on the legacy of an operation that has been in the family for 120 years. His son, Brett, came home from college in 2007 and has been onboard for 11 harvests.

“Brett’s taught me a lot of things about modern agriculture,” Bill said. “When GPS came along, well, I was against it at first, now, it’d be the last thing I’d get rid of. Each generation learns something new and there’s no telling what we’re going to have 50 years down the road.”

Sarah Franklin, Branch Manager, Texas Farm Credit, Pleasanton said, “Out of all of the videos submitted in the country, Texas Farm Credit’s was selected as one of the top three based on: creativity/ originality, emotion, the Farm Credit difference, and effectiveness. Now it’s up to the public to decide the grand winner,” said Novak. You can vote once on each device you have. So, if you have a phone, a computer and an ipad you can vote three times!

The judges for the preliminary round consisted of Andrew Bahrenburg, National Young Farmers Coalition, Zack Clark, National Farmers Union, Justin Darisse, National Council of Farmer Cooperatives, Evan Eagan, Farmer Veteran Coalition, Jordan Henry, National FFA, Susy Jordan, LAI Video, John Larson, American Farmland Trust, Riley Pagett, National FFA, and Andrew Walmsley, American Farm Bureau Federation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *