Pleasanton PD Recognized

Lisa Luna

Staff Writer

Pleasanton Police Chief Ronald Sanchez and the Pleasanton Police Department received a Certificate of Recognition, at the Nov. 2 Pleasanton City Council meeting.

Scott Rubin, Police Chief for the City of Fair Oaks Ranch and the chairman of Texas Police Chiefs Association Best Practices Recognition Committee and Chief A.J. Sandoval, recently appointed as Region 7 director for the association were on hand for the presentation.

“The association is made up of over 1,100 professional police chiefs throughout the state who are dedicated to improving the delivery and quality of police services,” said Rubin. “Several years ago, the Police Chiefs Association developed an accreditation program for Texas law enforcement. It is a voluntary program made up of chiefs who must meet 166 difficult standards. The standards are based on Texas law, Texas court decisions and contemporary best practices as identified by the Texas Police Chief’s Association. This program has become the new gold standard for professional law enforcement in Texas and agencies across the state are working diligently to meet these requirements.”

In October of this year, two trained assessors, police chiefs and command officers from other parts of Texas spent two days conducting on-site assessments of the department. These assessors interviewed staff, inspected facilities and operations and assured compliance with all standards. The report was then sent to the recognition committee, comprised of nine active police chiefs from around the state who reviewed the report and voted to award the Recognized status. This vote was unanimous.

“Throughout this process, the Pleasanton Police Department has once again proven that it meets or exceeds the best practices for professional law enforcement in Texas. For over 2,400 law enforcement agencies in Texas, only 140 agencies have achieved recognized status. This evening, we officially recognize the Pleasanton Police Department for its outstanding performance,” added Rubin.

The plaque reads, “To all that see this certificate know that the Pleasanton Police Department having fulfilled the necessary qualifications and mandatory requirements of the Texas Police Chiefs Association Texas Law Enforcement Best Practices Recognition Program by voluntarily proving their compliance with the Texas Law Enforcement Best Practices the Texas Police Chiefs Association Foundation Board of Directors does hereby award this Certificate of Recognition effective the 16th day of October 2017-2021.”

After asking officers and support personnel to join him in front of City Council Chambers, Chief Sanchez said, “To some people this might just be wood, paper and glass, but to us, this is hard work. It was three and a half years to get to this today. It wouldn’t have been possible without everyone here. Our program manager, Lt. Jimmy Cole, was vital in us achieving where we are today. This was by no means an easy task for anyone who is standing up here today. It took us awhile to get it done. But we darn sure got it done and we are extremely proud of this.

He explained that one of the department’s Tahoes parked outside had the new decal that says we are a recognized agency.

Sanchez ended, “This means the world to us, right here and we’d like to thank the support that the mayor and the council has given us, and our city manager Johnny Huizar, None of this would have been possible without everyone’s support and none of it would have been possible without the hard work of these ladies and gentlemen up here today. Thank you so much.”

The Pleasanton Police Department gathered after the Nov. 2 Pleasanton City Council meeting where they were presented with a Certificate of Recognition for achieving “Recognized” status. Comprising the Pleasanton Police Department are: Administration: Chief Ronald Sanchez, Capt. Johnny Gonzales, Lt. Ernest Guerra, Lt. Jim Cole, Sgt. David Jimenez and Sgt. Pierce Ruple; Officers: Jessi Chia, Tzu-chi Chia, Matthew De Leon, Deborah Delgado, Justin Granado, Ricardo Olveda, Armando Rodriguez, Ikaika Viesca, Daniel Zertuche, Anthony Gonzalez (not pictured), Christopher Trevino (not pictured) and Ernest Venegas (not pictured); Support Staff: Amie Osborne, Samantha Garcia, Gabrielle Martinez, Emika Chapa (not pictured) and Armando Vidales (not pictured). Detectives: Det. Jordan Haren, Det. Anastacio Perez and Det. Philip Glass (not pictured).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *