Mares wins Constable Precinct 1 race in Primary Runoff Election

Miguel “Mike” Mares Atascosa Co. Constable, Pct. 1

Miguel “Mike” Mares Atascosa Co. Constable, Pct. 1

The Texas 2020 runoff election determined which Democratic and Republican primary candidates will be on the ballot in November.

The 2020 primary runoffs were originally scheduled for May 26 and were postponed to July 14 because of the pandemic. The votes have been counted. However, a full vote count from every polling location will not be available until after the final canvas on July 23.

For the position of Atascosa County Constable Precinct 1 (Republican Party), Incumbant Miguel “Mike” Mares beat John Rothenbach with 256 to 105 votes. Mares, a resident of Atascosa County since 1989, was appointed as Constable Precinct 1 on Dec. 11, 2019, during a special called Commissioners Court meeting. Mares has 31 years’ experience in law enforcement. He filled the vacant seat after the passing of Constable Pct. 1, Percy Medina in October 2019.

For the Democratic Primary Runoff election, there were three races with Senate District 19 being one of the “most watched” contests in the state. The winner was six-term State Representative, immigration lawyer, Roland Gutierrez, with 16,640 votes which was 52.7%. He will face local Pleasanton resident, retired Colonel Game Warden and incumbent Texas State Senator, SD-19, Pete Flores, in November. Flores was the first Hispanic Republican Texas State Senator in Texas history and the first Republican to be elected in SD-19 in 139 years. SD-19 covers a large swath of Texas, stretching across 17 counties including parts of Bexar and Atascosa and south along the U.S.-Mexico border. The historically “blue” district turned “red” with Flores’ special election upset after Sen. Carlos Uresti resigned the office amid felony corruption charges.



For Democratic Primary Runoff for Railroad Commissioner, Chrysta Castañeda, who is an oil and gas attorney, won with 575,460, 62% of the votes. She will face Republican, Jerry Wright in November. Wright owns an oilfield waste services company and beat six-year incumbent Texas Railroad Commissioner, Ryan Sitton, in the Primary.

Combat vet and working mom, Mary “M.J.” Hegar defeated incumbent Royce West in the Democratic runoff for U.S. Senate. Hegar earned 498,180, 52% of the votes. She will face three-term Republican incumbent Sen. John Cornyn in November. Cornyn is an attorney who was Texas Attorney General, 1999-2002.

Key dates for Nov. 3, 2020 General Election:

• Last day to register to vote is Monday, Oct. 4,

• First day of Early Voting by personal appearance is Monday, Oct. 19

• Last day to apply for Ballot by Mail (received, not postmarked) is Friday, Oct. 23

• Last day of Early Voting by personal appearance is Friday, Oct. 30

• Last day to receive Ballot by Mail is Tuesday, Nov. 3 at 7 p.m. if carrier envelope is not postmarked, OR, Wednesday, Nov. 4 at 5 p.m. if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7 p.m. at the location on Election Day (unless overseas or military voter deadlines apply)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *