If you don’t vote, don’t crab

Local Matters


My mother embarrassed me to no end in high school when she put a Peanut’s bumper sticker on our shared family car that had an always irate Lucy Van Pelt wide mouthed yelling, “If you don’t vote, don’t crab.” Mom, once again you were right!

In the 2020 primary elections held March 3, each party will choose its candidate for U.S. President, U.S. Senate, congressional and legislative office, the State Board of Education, the Railroad Commission and judicial seats. Did you know that currently the Democrats have 14 candidates running for President and the Republicans have seven candidates? Your vote. Your choice. You don’t vote. You let others choose for you. Fact: You can vote in either the Republican or Democrat Primary regardless of your party affiliation. But whatever party you vote for in the primary, you must vote in that same party in the primary run-off election. For the General Election, you can again vote for whichever party you choose. The Pleasanton Express Voters Guide located in this issue has candidate bios for all contested local races with a same party opponent. It also contains listings of all the candidates both Democrat and Republican for local contested and uncontested races.

Early voting for the Primary begins February 18-28. If you have not registered to vote for the March 3 Primary, it is too late. To check if you are registered, please go to votetexas.gov or your local elections office at 914 Main Street, #115, Jourdanton. The next voter registration deadline is Monday, April 27, 2020 to be eligible to vote in the May 26, 2020 Primary Run-off.

Please do your Texas homework on all the races before you go vote. For a non-partisan voters guide that covers the entire state go to the League of Women Voters of Texas at lwv.org. Here are a few Texas races to watch:

U.S. Senate: 12 Democrats and four Republicans are running for incumbent Sen. John Cornyn’s (R) seat who has held this position since 2002.

U.S. House District 28: Incumbent Henry Cuellar (D) who has held his position since 2005 has a Democrat opponent Jessica Cisneros.

Railroad Commissioner: This three-member elected board has one seat up for re-election in 2020. Ryan Sitton (R) incumbent since 2014 has a Republican opponent James “Jim” Wright and four Democrat opponents. The Railroad Commission regulates the oil and gas industry which makes it a very important seat for Texans.

State Board of Education District 1 will not be a race in the Primary because the incumbent Georgina Perez (D) is running unopposed. She will face the unopposed Republican candidate Jennifer Ivey in the General Election in November. Start studying these candidates now where political party affiliation should not be your first choice on whom to choose. This is a four-year term where the 15-member board decides curriculum, standards, student testing, special education programs and textbooks for public schools.

NOEL WILKERSON HOLMEs is the Publisher/Managing Editor of the Pleasanton Express. You may reach her at nwilkersonholmes@pleasantonexpress.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *