I-37 Raceway at Newsome Motor Park

June 23, 2012
Pleasanton, Tx – After a scheduled week off, I-37 Raceway at Newsome Motor Park returned to action on the ¼ mile, semi-banked dirt track. Being the first race of summer, the on-track action in Sportmods, Street Stocks and Pure Stock was as hot as the south Texas sun as drivers battled to the finish on the dry slick track conditions at feature time.
In action tonight were the IMCA Modifieds and Southern Sportmods, Limited Late Models, Street and Pure Stocks, Front Runners and making their I-37 Raceway debut, the Texana Dwarf Cars. This club is kind of a marriage of the Dwarf Cars and Modifieds, with a Dwarf Car chassis and motorcycle motor, but Modified sheet metal body styles.
Pittaway Picks up Modified Payday
After several runs as a bridesmaid, Corpus Christi’s Bill Pittaway finally grabbed his first win of the season. Pittaway, a two-time I-37 track champion, got by Carson Bednarz for the lead near halfway using the high side to go around for the spot. From there Pittaway was able to ease away to a comfortable lead in the 15-lap main.
IMCA Modifieds
137 Bill Pittaway, 29 Jamie Campbell, 16 Carson Bednarz, 26 Darin Leonard, 49 Chuck Chesler, 24 Tracy Fink, 141 Rob Sanderson, 31 Marlin Samford, 21 Jason Borlace, 87 Dennis Taylor, 37b Matt Banker—DNTG
Minten Out-Muscles Sportmod Field for Win
Robby Minten(La Coste) had the battle of young career with Patrick Kelly at the beginning of the IMCA Southern Sportmod feature. R. Minten would get inside P. Kelly coming off the corner, but P. Kelly with the momentum up top would hold the point. After several attempts off turn 2, R. Minten tried off turn 4 and eased by coming to the crossed flags. A late caution put multi-time winner, JJ Jennings on his tail, but R. Minten held off Jennings to pick up the victory.
IMCA Southern Sportmods
4r Robby Minten, 26g JJ Jennings, 118 Anthony Gordon, 37 Cody Leonard, 9 Ray Doyon III, 84k Patrick Kelly, 2r Michael Hernandez, 11 Tom Grothues, 57 Jason Kelly, 18 Larry Jernigan, 10 Eric Robbins jr., 22t Tommy Grimes, 94 Alan Torres, 14t Talon Minten, 60 Pat Lyon, 66 Johnny Torres
Limited Late Models
6 Craig Crawley, 10 Chris Brock, 7 Richard Bartosh, 99 Trey Votion, 13 Howie Marcx, 1x Andrew Hesler, 42 Ron Sprayue, 14 Gary Hunter
Alamo Hot Rod Street Stocks
118 Anthony Gordon, 41 Wade Jones, 1 Johnny Torres, 37 AJ Wernette, 40 Mike Lyon, 99 Frank Okruhlik, 3 Abraham Mares III, 2x Dennis Hilla, 726 Robert Robbins, 31 Jeff Hendricks, 04 Nathan Robins 141 Curtis Opiela, 9 Brian Becka, 82 Richard Wells—DNS, 11w Nathan Faulkner—DNS
Pure Stocks
33x Aaron Leddy, 66 Adam Torres, 5 Ryan Doyon, 57 Ben Franke, 10c Karaline Campbell, 6p Jeremy Hernandez, 117 Devin Adler, 7x Janel Hilla, 1c2 Dustin Blessing, 99 Frank Okruhlik, 14 Trey Heald, 15 William Cavender, 28 Darren Blevins, 88 Brandy Ramzinski, 9s Jarrett Payton, 19 Brent Reeves, 95 Jerry Jones, 60 Adam McKinley
Front Runners
5 Dillon Gaither, 08 Landon Sowder, 113 Hailee Marcx, 8t Ryan Franklin, 66c Cindy Snider, 82 Sam Markgraf
Texana Dwarf Cars
14 Greg Sexton, 7 Greg Sexton jr., 13 Mike Christians, 2ez Easy Casey, 1 Ken Bulsterbaum, 11 Jerry Godfrey, 89 Geoff Youngblood, 24 Victor Vargas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *