How the county voted

Early voting was brisk for the General Election. According to the Election Administrator’s office, 3,112 voted early.

While these numbers are still unofficial – provisional votes will be counted on Thursday, November 13 – the outcome of some local races could possibly change. Re-counts could also play a factor in close races.

Out of 29,908 registered voters in Atascosa County, 9,149 turned out for this General Election in Atascosa County. That is 30.59 percent of voter turnout.

Our county reflected the overall outcome for the Governor and Lt. Governor’s race. Republicans Greg Abbott and Dan Patrick received 4,736 and 2,582 votes respectively for the county.

District Judge, 218th Judicial District

Atascosa County’s results proved the same for the district with Russell Wilson (Rep) getting 3,944 votes to Carrie Moy’s (Dem) 3,363.

Atascosa Co. Judge

Republican businessman Bob Hurley will be Atascosa County’s next judge. He received 4,684 (63.55 percent) votes to Democrat Bill Gamez’s 2,686.


Republican William “Bill” Torans maintained his seat by getting 1,121 votes. His opponent Richard “Dicky” Garza (Dem) received 596.

Justice of the Peace

In Precinct No. 1, 19 votes separated Michael Pascarella (Rep) and incumbent Betty Caballero (Dem). Pascarella received 50.61 percent of the votes with 787 while Caballero receive 768 votes.

Precinct No. 2 Judge Kyle Bradley (Rep) kept his seat by defeating Gerry Elias (Dem). 1,100 votes were cast in Bradley’s favor to Elias’ 619.

Proposition 1

The State Prop. 1 received 5,109 votes voting for the measure – “Proposition 1 for the State of Texas: “The constitutional amendment providing for the use and dedication of certain money transferred to the state highway fund to assist in the completion of transportation, construction, maintenance, and rehabilitation projects, not to include toll roads.”

Voting against were 1,188.

City of Jourdanton

Mayor Susan B. Netardus will remain mayor with her win of 425 vots to Steve Mueller’s 164 and write-in Tommy Poenisch 43 votes.

Two places were decided, with one being very close.

Only three votes separate Raul (Roy) Morales (364) and Rudy Segura (361) for a place on the council. Robert “Doc” Williams was a clear winner with 452 votes. Robert Herrera Jr. received 132 votes.

Jourdanton ISD

Philip Netardus will be the newest JISD board member with his 53 votes. Carol Wheeler Delgado and (Chilly) Willie Johnson received 29 and 4 votes respectively.

City of Charlotte

Zoraida R. Casares will keep her Place 1 council seat with 151 votes. Opponent Buddy Daughtry had 124.

In Place 2, Christie Rankin defeated incumbent Priscilla B. Tijerina. Rankin received 157 votes to Tijerina’s 117.

Patty Garza also defeated incumbent Marilyn Zulaica for Place 3. Garza received 145 votes to Zulaica’s 121.

Charlotte ISD

Matt Wagner unseated Place 1 trustee incumbent Leonard Cumpian. Wagner received 270 votes. Cumpian received 91.

In Place 4, Tommy J. Garcia (202 votes)also unseated the incumbent Shawn L. Smith (159 votes).

Somerset ISD

New blood will replace both of the incumbents in Somerset ISD. In District 2, Robert Stevens (7 votes) won over Omar Pachecano (2 votes). District 7 incumbent Don Green (37 votes) was narrowly unseated by Cecilia Castellano (39 votes).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *