Early voting underway

Election Day for some city governments, and Poteet school board trustees may be 10 days away (May 12), but early voting for the elections is already underway and will continue through Tuesday, May 8.


City of Pleasanton

There are two initiatives qualified voters may decide to pass or reject.

Voter Initiative #1

“A resolution, by initiative of the qualified voters of the City of Pleasanton, approving and adopting the Community Center/Library plans, previously approved on or about July 28, 2011, by the Pleasanton City Council and allowing the Community Center/Library Project to proceed as set out in those approved plans.”

Voter Initiative #2

“An ordinance, by initiative of the qualified voters of the City of Pleasanton, closing, vacating and abandoning a portion of the 100 block of North Main Street in the City of Pleasanton, Texas, being that portion immediately adjacent to the Community Center and Library Project and buildings, as more particularly described in the proposed ordinance.” Three seats on the council will also be decided. They are:

Council Members

District 1 –
Jimmy Magel (i)
Gloria Uribe Jenks

District 2 –
Abraham Saenz (i)
Lonnie Gaither

District 3 – Kathy Coronado
(no opposition)

Early voting is held at the Pleasanton City Hall, 108 2nd Street from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. and on May 7 & 8, 7 pa.m. until 7 p.m. Regular voting will be held on Saturday, May 12 from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Polling places are:

District 1 – Community Bible Chapel, 1176 W. Oaklawn Road District 2 – St. Andrew’s Hall, 626 Market Street District 3 – Trinity Baptist Church, 1219 N. Bryant Street District 4 – Pleasanton Elementary School, 616 N. Main Street District 5 – Pleasanton Fire Station, 219 W. Hunt Street District 6 – First Presbyterian Church, 435 N.Bryant Street


Early voiting for both the City of Poteet and Poteet ISD will be held jointly in the Poteet ISD Administration Building, 1100 School Drive, Poteet. Hours will be from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. Extended hours for early voting by personal appearance will be conducted on May 1 and May 8 between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m.

Regular voting for both the city and school elections will be held on Saturday, May 12 from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. at the same polling place, Poteet Jr. High, 1000 FM 1470, Poteet.

City of Poteet

There are three seats on Poteet’s council that are up for election. They are:

Council Members

Place 1 –
Raymond Leal (i)
Gregory Groesbeck

Place 2 –
Gerard Herrera (i)
Ernest Santos, Jr.

Place 3 –
Sonny Estrada
Mary Beth Topp

Poteet ISD

A bond election will be held for Poteet ISD in addition to voters selecting three trustees to the school board. The wording on the ballot for the bond election is: PROPOSITION THE ISSUANCE OF $23,450,000 OF BONDS TO CONSTRUCT, ACQUIRE AND EQUIP SCHOOL BUILDINGS AND PURCHASE NEW SCHOOL BUSES, AND LEVYING THE TAX IN PAYMENT THEREOF. Official Proposition “Shall the Board of Trustees of the Poteet Independent School District be authorized to issue bonds of the District, in one or more series, in the aggregate principal amount of $23,450,000 for the construction, acquisition, and equipping of school buildings in the District and the purchase of new school buses, with said bonds to mature, bear interest, and be issued and sold in accordance with law at the time of issuance, all within the discretion of such Board of Trustees; and shall the Board of Trustees be authorized to levy and pledge, and cause to be assessed and collected, annual ad valorem taxes on all taxable property in the District, sufficient, without limit as to rate or amount, to pay the principal of and interest on said bonds?”

Trustees to be elected:

Place 3 –
Bonnie Horn Guerra (i)
Henry S. Ortiz

Place 4 –
Jarrett Akers (i)
Steven Estrada

Place 5 –
Ronald Sanchez (i)
Conrad Stephen Estrada

Other election dates changed

Pleasanton ISD will not hold an election this year so the trustee election rotation can adjust to two year terms. In 2013, Districts 1, 3 and 6 seats will be up for election. In 2014, trustees in Districts 2,4, 5 and 7 will have to run for election. Jourdanton and Charlotte municipal and school elections will be held in November as will the City of Christine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *