Early Voting underway

Early Voting is underway for Pleasanton and Poteet mayor, city council and school board positions.

Who you vote for will determine who leads YOUR city and/or school. If you think that your favorite candidate is popular enough to get the votes to win without yours, you’re wrong. In the last school board election, one of the most beloved and popular trustees received a mere five or so votes. Do NOT count on another person to vote for your candidate, even if you think the odds are in their favor. Also, and most importantly, pay attention to how each candidate presents themselves in general, not just in office or on paper. What are they like as a person? How much do they know about the current state of office they are running for? Be sure to grab the April 14 issue of the Pleasanton Express to see the Voters’ Information Guide that showcases each candidate in the running for office. The goal of the Voters’ Guide is to help you, the voter, learn about the qualifications, plans and positions of each candidate. This year, we did things a little differently. Rather than request candidates to simply submit a 150-word bio of themselves, we challenged each candidate to really think about their race. We sent each opposed candidate a set of questions specific to their positions: mayor, city councilmember or school board trustee. Our hope with this new and improved Voters’ Info Guide is that you will be able to truly evaluate each candidate based on their answers that are specific to the community they will represent.

Those running for office are:

• Pleasanton Mayor: Britni Van Curan and Clinton J. Powell

• Pleasanton Council District 6: Jennifer Garcia and Jeanne Israel

• Pleasanton ISD District 3: Paul Bernal, Ernest Gonzales Jr. and Patrick Hurley

• Pleasanton ISD District 6: Incumbent Felipa Garza and Jessica Tom

• Poteet Mayor: Incumbent Willie Leal Jr., Denise Sanchez, Nicholas Sanchez and Robert Enriquez Zuniga

• Poteet Council Place 4: Jeremy Fernandez and Melinda J. Orta

• Poteet Council Place 5: Incumbent Jesse M. Leal and Crystal Bautista

Early Voting ends April 27. Election Day is Saturday, May 1. Please see the graphic on 1A for polling locations for each election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *