Early voting for Primary runoff elections underway

Election day is Tuesday, July 31



Early voting in the 2012 Primary run-off elections began Monday July 23, 2012 and will continue through Friday, July 27, 2012. As of Tuesday afternoon, the tally of early voters numbered at 168.

Voters may vote at the Atascosa County Election Administrator’s office at 914 N. Main, Jourdanton. Voters who participated in the May 29, 2012 Primary Elections must vote in the same party’s run-off election in which they voted in May. Voters who did not cast a ballot in the Primary Elections may vote in either party’s run-off election.

In Atascosa County, the candidates are as follows:

Democratic – (Precinct 3)

United States Senator – Paul Sadler, Grady Yarbrough

Republican- (all precincts/ boxes)

United States Senator – Ted Cruz, David Dewhurst

Railroad Commissioner – Christi Craddick, Warren Chisum

Railroad Commissioner (unexpired term) – Greg Parker,Barry Smitherman

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 4 – John Devine, David Medina

(Precinct/Box 6/17) Precinct Chairman, Precinct No. 17 – Judy Hooge, Caroline George

(Precinct/Box 2/12) Precinct Chairman, Precinct No. 12 – Wayne S. Vaughn, Michael Vasquez

Hope Andrade, Texas Secretary of State reminds voters that photo identification as required in Senate Bill 14 will not be required in early noting or on election day. To cast a ballot during early voting or on election day, voters should present their voter registration card or in lieu of a voter registration card, at least one of the following:

•A driver’s license or personal identification card issued to you by the Texas Department of Public Safety or a similar document issued to you by an agency of another state, even if the license or card has expired;

•A form of identification that contains your photograph and establishes your identity;

•A birth certificate or other document confirming birth that is admissible in a court of law and establishes the person’s identity;

•Your United States citizenship papers;

•Your United States passport;

•Official mail addressed to you by a governmental entity; or

•A copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, or other government document that shows your name and address.

For more information on the voting process in Texas, including where to vote, please visit www.votetexas. gov.

Janice Ruple, Election Administrator, wants voters to be aware that on election day, they consolidated voting boxes. See the information box on page 2.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *