Conference USA announces schedule setup for 2013 football season



Wednesday, Jan. 23, 2013

MIAMI, Fla. — Conference USA (C-USA) announced Wednesday its divisional setup, as well as the home and away opponents for the upcoming 2013 football season.

Member schools will play eight league games using two, seven-team divisions. A single round‐robin will be played within divisions with two cross-division opponents in a one‐year rotation.

UTSA, which officially joins the league on July 1, will be a member of the West Division, which also will include Louisiana Tech, North Texas, Rice, Tulane, Tulsa and UTEP. Meanwhile, the East will consist of East Carolina, Florida Atlantic (FAU), Florida International (FIU), Marshall, Middle Tennessee, Southern Mississippi and UAB.

The Roadrunners, who posted an 8-4 record (3-3 WAC) this past fall, will host Louisiana Tech, Rice, Tulane and UAB at the Alamodome and they will embark on road trips to Marshall, North Texas, Tulsa and UTEP (all dates & times TBA). UTSA played Louisiana Tech and Rice for the first time a year ago and it will meet the other six opponents for the first time in program history.

C-USA also announced it will have television agreements with FOX Sports Networks and CBS Sports Network this fall and that ESPN will continue to carry the C-USA Football Championship. As one the largest BCS conferences in 2013, league membership will include institutions in 12 of the Top 65 television markets, eight in the Top 40 and four in the Top 25 media markets according to Nielson. Home markets next year will include more than 14.5 million TV households, a 43 percent increase to the current reach of 10.1 million homes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *