Candidate Forum Jan. 27



In an effort to connect candidates with voters, the Pleasanton Express is hosting a Non-Partisan Candidate Forum at the Pleasanton Civic Center, Thursday, Jan. 27 at 6 p.m. The forum will be moderated by Jessica Tom. All candidates who have filed to be on the 2022 Primary Election Ballot in Atascosa County are invited to participate.

Each opposed candidate will be asked a series of questions pertaining to their office and local issue. These are not “gotcha” questions. The questions are designed to engage and inform voters around issues that matter to them. The goal of the forum is two-fold—to give voters a more rounded understanding of the person behind the campaign slogan and to get out the vote.

Unopposed candidates are invited to meet and greet with attendees at the end of the candidate forum and are invited to contribute to our Voter’s Guide.

The public is invited to attend and encouraged to meet personally with candidates. Please save the date Thursday, Jan. 27.

The Pleasanton Express’ Voter’s Guide will be published Jan. 26 and provided free at Candidates should email a head-and-shoulder photo and a 150-word political bio for our Voter’s Guide to Deadline to receive is Thursday, Jan. 6 at 10 a.m.

Candidates in the 2022 March Primary include:

Democratic Party Chair

Julie Hilberg (Incumbent)

Republican Party Chair

Robert Duncan (Incumbent)

U.S. Congress Texas


Henry Cuellar (Incumbent) – D

Tannya Benavides – D

Jessica Cisneros – D

Ed Cabrera – R

Steven Fowler – R

Cassy Garcia – R

Eric Hohman – R

Rolando Rodriguez – R

Willie Vasquez Ng – R

Sandra Whitten – R

TX State Senator D-24

Pete Flores – R

Lamar Lewis – R

Raul Reyes – R

Kathy Jones-Hospod – D

Jeremy Kohlwes – D

State Representative


Tracy O. King – D

Atascosa County Judge

Weldon P. Cude – R

Camila Chapa Mares – R

Grant M. Luckman – R

Dustin Delgado – D

Court-At-Law Judge

Bob Brendel (Incumbent) – R

81st District Judge

Jennifer Ebrom Dillingham – R

Sylvia Rodriguez – R

Trent Rowell – R

District Clerk

Margaret E. Littleton (Incumbent) – R

County Clerk

Theresa Carrasco – R

Jeremy Fernandez – R

County Treasurer

Laura Pawelek (Incumbent)

– R

County Commissioner

Pct. 2

Stuart Knowlton (Incumbent) – R

Mark Bowen – R

Vickie Eckert – D

County Commissioner

Pct. 4

Kennard Bubba Riley (Incumbent) – R

Ernest Miller (R)

Justice of the Peace

Pct. 1

Felix Herrera III (Incumbent) – R

Charles Urbina Jones – D

Justice of the Peace

Pct. 2

Marian Knowlton – R

Wayne S. Vaughn – R

Justice of the Peace

Pct. 3

Orlando Carrasco (Incumbent) – D

Brenda Ana Arreola – R

Willie Leal Jr. – R

Justice of the Peace

Pct. 4

Robert M. Evans – R

R.G. Poth – R

Rusty Prasifka – R

Early Voting for the March Primary is Feb. 14-25, 2022. Election Day is March 1, 2022. The last day to register to vote is Monday, Jan. 31, 2022. The Pleasanton Express will hold a 2022 Primary Candidate Forum on Jan. 27 at the Pleasanton Civic Center. Please plan to attend and get to know your candidates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *