All-district selections led by 6 superlatives

Five players and a coach from Atascosa County schools received superlatives from their respective leagues in the football all-district selections for the 2017 season.

Pleasanton brought home four District 15-4A Division I awards, including Offensive Player of the Year, which went to junior quarterback Johnny Zamora.

Eagles senior Isaac Mendiola was the district’s Utility Player of the Year along with La Vernia’s Brian Beltran and Seth Gomez of Beeville. Mendiola split time at wide receiver and defensive back.

Defensive lineman Louis Arguijo, a sophomore, earned Defensive Newcomer of the Year, which he shared with La Vernia’s Ty Halsay.

Stephen Liska, who went 10-2 in his first season in charge of Pleasanton, shared Coach of the Year honors with Sonny Detmer of Somerset.

Jourdanton receiver Jarel Lilly earned 15-3A DI Newcomer of the Year after bursting onto the scene as a freshman.

In 14-4A DII, Poteet sophomore Roderick King won Newcomer of the Year as a lineman.

The following players also received all-district recognition:


First-team wide receiver: Dalton Hobbs, sophomore

First-team center: Oscar Castillo, senior

First-team offensive tackle: Deandre Campbell, senior

First-team defensive tackle: Hunter Norment, junior

First-team linebacker: Gio Peralez, senior

First-team outside linebacker: Steven Mendiola, junior

First-team cornerback: Nick Ramos, senior

First-team safety: Jaylen Escamilla, senior

First-team kicker: Victor Gutierrez, senior

Second-team running back: Austin Renner, senior

Second-team wide receiver: Jordan Bosquez, senior

Second-team offensive guard: Victor Anguino, senior

Second-team defensive end: Gabe Anguiano, senior

Second-team linebacker: Juan Ramirez, senior

Second-team outside linebacker: Krys Palmer, senior

Second-team cornerback: Jordan Bosquez, senior


First-team running back (unanimous selection): Jemareon Moore, senior

First-team defensive tackle: Logan Huereca, junior

First-team inside linebacker: Jesse Ledesma, junior

First-team cornerback: Sean Biscaino, junior

First-team utility players: Phillip Guerra, senior, and Kord Northcut, senior

Second-team offensive guard: Zach Bennett, senior

Second-team offensive tackle: Manuel Castillo, senior

Second-team fullback: Isaac Ramos, senior

Second-team defensive end: Derek Jenschke, sophomore

Second-team inside linebacker: Miguel Galindo, junior

Second-team cornerback: Payton Gonzales, freshman

Honorable mention tight ends: Cort Hindes, sophomore, and Evan Pawelek, senior

Honorable mention offensive tackle: Dean Bulgerin, senior

Honorable mention defensive end: Kendric McCann, senior

Honorable mention defensive tackle: Brendan Diaz, senior

Honorable mention safety: Caleb Bunger, senior


First-team utility player: Sonny Orozco, senior

First-team inside linebacker: Carlos Reyes, junior

First-team returner: Sonny Orozco, senior

Second-team running back: Anthony Ambriz, senior

Second-team tight end: Tyler Parsons, junior

Second-team inside linebacker: Anthony Ambriz, senior

Second-team defensive tackle: Timothy Carrasco, senior

Second-team punter: Carlos Reyes, junior

Honorable mention quarterback: Daryn Garza, junior

Honorable mention offensive tackle: Jorge Ortega, senior

Honorable mention offensive guards: Samuel Ritchey, senior, and Adriel Tovar, senior

Honorable mention safety: Juan Benites, senior

Honorable mention outside linebacker: Ralph Lopez, senior

Honorable mention defensive tackle: Roger Lozano, senior

Honorable mention cornerback: Sonny Orozco, senior

Honorable mention inside linebacker: Chris Rodriguez, junior

Academic all-district: Anthony Ambriz, Jordan Ambriz, Robert Benavidez, Juan Benites, Timothy Carrasco, Richard Espinoza, Brandon Fernandez, Daryn Garza, Louis Guzman, Zachary Howell, Rafael Lopez, Ethan Muñoz, Sonny Orozco, Samuel Ortiz, Tyler Parsons, Joseph Peña, Carlos Reyes, Samuel Ritchey, Seth Ritchey, Chris Rodriguez, Carlos Romero and Adriel Tovar.


First-team running back: Cameron Orduna, senior

First-team wide receiver: Jarret Salazar, senior

First-team inside linebacker: Christian Estrada, junior

First-team cornerback: Jarret Salazar, senior

Second-team fullback: Christian Estrada, junior

Second-team wide receiver: Mark Gaitan, junior

Second-team offensive tackle: Randy Martinez, senior

Second-team defensive tackle: Damien Cruz, sophomore

Second-team defensive end: Randy Martinez, senior

Second-team cornerback: Isaiah Gomez, sophomore

Second-team safety: Mark Gaitan, junior

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *