Something as simple as driving with headlights when required is not only extremely important, but apparently somewhat confusing, as well.
With the foggy months coming real soon, we are often asked the question; When do I have to have my headlights turned on? In Texas, the law requires you turn your headlights on 30 minutes after sunset till 30 minutes before sunrise. Most law enforcement officers and driving school experts agree that, in most cases, your headlights should be turned on at sunset and remain on till sunrise. More often than not, these two 30-minute periods are crucial times when lighting is not always the best. In other words, a little extra caution is well worth it.
Texas law also requires that you must drive with your headlights on when visibility is less than 1,000 feet, such as when foggy or during a moderate to hard rain. This is about the distance of three football fields. In fog or during a rainstorm, I would highly recommend using your headlights when visibility is less than 1,500 feet. Vehicles during these conditions can be extremely difficult to see without the headlights being on. Let’s be safe, when in doubt or you feel uncomfortable with visibility, turn them on. Remember, if you’re having trouble seeing other vehicles, they are having the same issue seeing you.
Until next time, be safe and give us a call if you need anything.
DAVID SOWARD is the elected Sheriff of Atascosa County, has been with the sheriff’s office for 42 years and he is in his 7th year as Sheriff. Sheriff Soward holds a Master Jailer’s License as well as a Master Peace Officer’s License from the State of Texas. He can be reached by email at email@example.com or by phone at 830-769-3434.