3A Honor Band Concert Feb. 16

The Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) named the Jourdanton Wind Symphony the 3A Honor Band at the annual Texas Bandmaster’s Association convention in San Antonio on July 20, 2017.

Honor Band is the highest award a concert band can receive in the state of Texas and is equivalent to winning a state championship in athletics.

Bands enter at the region level by submitting a recording of a three-selection concert program recorded at a public performance. Those bands who advance from region move on the area judging and those who advance from area are then judged at the state level.

The purpose of honor band is twofold. Many educators believe that through the process of hearing and observing the results of quality teaching, directors can develop their own instructional skills to a higher level. In addition, selection of an honor band in each classification recognizes communities and school systems that successfully support music in education through their instrumental music programs.

There are 221 3A schools in the state and 15 bands representing five regions were part of the state level judging. 2017 marks the first time since 1982 that a band from south Texas earned this honor and Jourdanton is the first from Atascosa County.

The band will perform a featured concert at the TMEA convention in San Antonio on Friday, February 16 at 4 p.m. in the Lila Cockrell Theater. The public is invited to this free concert.

The Jourdanton Wind Symphony is the principal concert band of the Jourdanton High School Band program and is comprised of students who have a love of concert music and concert performance. Students earn placement in the Wind Symphony by audition.

The band has earned numerous UIL Sweepstakes awards and top honors from music festivals across the state including the Texas Lutheran University Festival of Bands, The American Music Festival, and the Director’s Choice Music Festival.

The directors of the Indian Band are Mr. Babatunde Onibudo, principal conductor assisted by Mr. Nathan Flynt, Mr. Daniel Sharp, and Mrs. Michelle Alanis. Jourdanton High School Principal is Mr. Keith Chapman. Jourdanton ISD Superintendent is Ms. Theresa McAllister.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *