2012-05-09 / Front Page

City elections will be held Saturday

Pleasanton sees record early voting turnout

Early voting ended on Tuesday for the upcoming elections. According to the numbers it has been brisk. In Pleasanton, 539 have cast their votes prior to the Saturday, May 12 election day.

As of May 7, Poteet I.S.D. had 289 voters come out and take advantage of voting early, while the City of Poteet had 153 voters.


City of Pleasanton

There are two initiatives qualified voters may decide to pass or reject.

Voter Initiative #1 “A resolution, by initiative of the qualified voters of the City of Pleasanton, approving and adopting the Community Center/ Library plans, previously approved on or about July 28, 2011, by the Pleasanton City Council and allowing the Community Center/ Library Project to proceed as set out in those approved plans.”

Voter Initiative #2

“An ordinance, by initiative of the qualified voters of the City of Pleasanton, closing, vacating and abandoning a portion of the 100 block of North Main Street in the City of Pleasanton, Texas, being that portion immediately adjacent to the Community Center and Library Project and buildings, as more particularly described in the proposed ordinance.”

Three seats on the council will also be decided. They are:

Council Members
District 1 -
Jimmy Magel (i)
Gloria Uribe Jenks

District 2 -
Abraham Saenz (i)
Lonnie Gaither

District 3 -
Kathy Coronado
(no opposition)

Regular voting will be held on Saturday, May 12 from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Polling places are:

District 1 - Community Bible
Chapel, 1176 W. Oaklawn Road
District 2 - St. Andrew’s Hall,
626 Market Street
District 3 - Trinity Baptist Church,
1219 N. Bryant Street
District 4 - Pleasanton
Elementary School,
616 N. Main Street
District 5 - Pleasanton Fire
Station, 219 W. Hunt Street
District 6 - First Presbyteria
Church, 435 N.Bryant Street


Regular voting for both the city and school elections will be held on Saturday, May 12 from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. at the same polling place, Poteet Jr. High, 1000 FM 1470, Poteet.

City of Poteet

There are three seats on Poteet’s council that are up for election. They are:

Council Members
Place 1 -
Raymond Leal (i)
Gregory Groesbeck

Place 2 -
Gerard Herrera (i)
Ernest Santos, Jr.

Place 3 -
Sonny Estrada
Mary Beth Topp

Poteet ISD

A bond election will be held for Poteet ISD in addition to voters selecting three trustees to the school board. The wording on the ballot for the bond election is:



“Shall the Board of Trustees of the Poteet Independent School District be authorized to issue bonds of the District, in one or more series, in the aggregate principal amount of $23,450,000 for the construction, acquisition, and equipping of school buildings in the District and the purchase of new school buses, with said bonds to mature, bear interest, and be issued and sold in accordance with law at the time of issuance, all within the discretion of such Board of Trustees; and shall the Board of Trustees be authorized to levy and pledge, and cause to be assessed and collected, annual ad valorem taxes on all taxable property in the District, sufficient, without limit as to rate or amount, to pay the principal of and interest on said bonds?”

Trustees to be elected:
Place 3 -
Bonnie Horn Guerra (i)
Henry S. Ortiz

Place 4 -
Jarrett Akers (i)
Steven Estrada

Place 5 -
Ronald Sanchez (i)
Conrad Stephen Estrada

Other election dates changed

Pleasanton ISD will not hold an election this year so the trustee election rotation can adjust to two year terms. In 2013, Districts 1, 3 and 6 seats will be up for election. In 2014, trustees in Districts 2, 4, 5 and 7 will have to run for election.

Jourdanton and Charlotte municipal and school elections will be held in November as will the City of Christine.

Return to top