2011-12-28 / Farm & Ranch

Atascosa County FSA announces election results

(Pleasanton, TX), December 27, 2011 –Atascosa County USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) Executive Director Scott Heffernan, announced that county committee elections are over, the ballots are counted and the results are in.

Santiago Lopez Jr. (Jimmy) of Pleasanton was elected to represent LAA #1 and Vincent Caldarola of Leming will serve as the first alternate.

Elected county committee members serve a three-year term and are responsible for making decisions on FSA disaster, conservation, commodity, and price support programs, as well as other important federal farm program issues.

"County committee members are a valuable asset because they are local producers who participate in FSA programs themselves and have a direct connection to farmers and ranchers in the community,” said Heffernan. "All recently elected county committee members and alternates will take office on January 1, 2012, and join the existing committee," he said.

For more information about county committees and the election process, please contact the Atascosa County FSA office at 830-569-3845, ext. 2 or visit www.fsa.usda.gov.

Return to top